The BEC is governed by a Council, similar in nature to a Board of Directors, which is accountable under the Constitution of the organization. Council Members are elected at the Annual General Meeting to serve a tenure of one year. This Council ensures that the organization functions and conducts business in a bona fide manner and seeks to guarantee its success. The Council comprises a President, a first Vice President, a second Vice President, two (2) trustees and includes seventeen (17) members.

The 2018-2019 Council

At the 58th Annual General Meeting of the Barbados Employers' Confederation the following officers were elected for the year 2018/2019: 

Mrs. Marguerite Estwick (President)

Ms. Yvonne Hall (1st Vice President)

Mrs. Kyrel Roach  (2nd Vice President)

Mr. Ian Gooding-Edghill (Immediate Past President)



Dr. Hensley Sobers 

Mr. Colin Walcott 


Trade Group Representatives 

Ms. Diana Douglas (Ancillary Services Group)
Williams Industries Inc. 

Ms. Samantha Nurse-Butler (Construction Group)
C O Williams Construction Co. Ltd 

Ms. Yvonne Hall (Financial Services Group)
Republic Bank (Barbados) Ltd. 

Ms. Debbie Taylor (Garage Group)
McEnearney Quality Inc. 

T.B.A (Hospitality Services Group)

Mrs. Lisa Ridley-Paul (Manufacturers Group)
Banks Holdings (Barbados) Ltd. 

Mrs. Kyrel Roach (Retail Trade Group)
Unicomer Limited 

Mrs. Natalie Abrahams (Utilities Group)
Barbados Light & Power Company Ltd. 



Independent Members of Council 

Ms. Gail Springer
Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association

Ms. Julia Norville
Barbados Agricultural Management Company 

Mrs. Katherine Farnum
CIBC FirstCaribbean International Bank 

Ms. Lianne Fingall
Goddard Enterprises Ltd 

Ms. Erica Luke
Shipping Association of Barbados 

Ms. Esther Tull
FLOW / Cable & Wireless (Barbados) Ltd. 

Mrs. Dawn Jemmot-Lowe
Bank of Nova Scotia

Ms. Dawn Layne
Massy (Barbados)

Mr. Everton Browne
Associate Member



To further improve the efficiency of the BEC various standing committees have been established to perform delegated tasks outlined in their Terms of Reference. Three (3) committees are appointed by the Executive and are responsible for making recommendations in their field of operation and to assist the Secretariat wherever needed. These sub-committees are: 

  1. Finance, Business Management and Corporate Governance

    This committee is responsible for ensuring that the organization maintains a sound financial status ensuring that its assets are always well managed, and seeks to establish new revenue streams. It also promotes the development of a culture of “best practice” and ensures the organization acts in line with the constitution.

  2. Membership Services and Service Excellence

    The main objective of this committee is to maintain and support the existing membership while avidly planning ways to recruit new members. It also ensures that members are well aware of the services offered by the organization as well as to determine emerging needs.

  3. Industrial Relations

    This committee is responsible for discussing legislation and national policies with a view to making recommendations which would aid in the development, growth and protection of employers and employees alike. Its objective is to promote the importance of productivity and acceptable business management practices to the social and economic wellbeing of Barbados.